Thursday’s Forthcoming Releases [Part I]

image006.jpg image007.jpg image008.jpg image009.jpg

QUEEN LP REISSUES: [Release Date 25/05/2009]


News Of The World:

Flash Gordon:

A Kind Of Magic:


EMI Music are re-releasing the entire Queen studio album catalogue on heavyweight vinyl. The album packaging will include every detail of the original releases in their original 12" format. All the unique content of the original albums will be faithfully reproduced. The next 5 albums include the very first album, Queen, along with News Of The World, Flash Gordon, A Kind of Magic and Innuendo, with successive releases coming approximately every 6 months. In a deliberate move, the albums are not being released chronologically but instead sequenced over the twenty-two year period of release allowing buyers wider choice with each new batch of releases.


QUEEN 'The Singles Collection [Volume 2]' [Release Date 15/06/2009]


The second volume of Queen's massively impressive Singles Collection box set series is set for release by EMI on June 15. Aimed to make available and replicate in faithful detail every one of Queen's singles to have made the upper reaches of the charts anywhere in the world, the collection was launched last December with a set covering the band's career from the early years 1973 – 1979. This latest 'Volume 2' box set covers the subsequent period of mid 1979 – 1984 with 13 singles drawn from the albums 'Live Killers' [79], 'The Game' [80], 'Flash Gordon' [80], 'Hot Space' [82] and 'The Works' [84]. The subsequent volumes will follow the band's singles through to the final Queen studio album, 'Made In Heaven' from 1995. While focusing primarily on the band's complete UK singles output, the importance of the series is amplified by the inclusion on many singles only released abroad as well as rare non-album B-sides, live tracks, and some seldom-heard alternative mixes. This is a collection made up of the singles in their true original form, delivering every top 40 Queen single heard on the radio anywhere across the world. This collection highlights one of the most adventurous periods in Queen's history which saw the band constantly reaching out into new territory, both as studio musicians and live performers. Considering the band was seldom away from touring it is remarkable they were able to achieve such an output of new recorded work. In the five year period these singles cover the band toured Europe three times, Japan three times, the USA twice and even managed to break open the Latin America countries with a series of logic and – some would say – sense-defying stadium concerts which Queen would later return to for the 1985 historic Rock in Rio concerts.


PARADISE LOST 'Drown In Darkness – The Early Demos' [Release Date 25/05/2009]


The early demos of the mighty Paradise Lost now officially available on CD for the very first time! Includes all tracks of the 'Paradise Lost' demo, all tracks of the 'Frozen Illusion' demo as well as six live tracks from 1989 that have never been officially available before. Extensive liner notes by Nick Holmes. All songs digitally remastered. Limited CD edition in old school vinyl look.

image015.jpg image016.jpg


Slide It In: 25th Anniversary Edition:

This CD + DVD edition is packaged in a digi with 24 page booklet, featuring rare & unpublished photos, archive memorabilia and brand new sleevenotes written by David Coverdale * Features the classic "US Remix" of the album, plus 10 bonus tracks including the rare single b-side, 'Need Your Love So Bad' * 6 of the 7 video clips are available on DVD for the first time, including footage from their 1983 headline appearance at the 1983 Monsters Of Rock Festival, Donington

Slip Of The Tongue: 20th Anniversary Edition:

This CD + DVD edition is packaged in a digi with a 24 page booklet, featuring rare & unpublished photos, archive memorabilia and brand new sleevenotes by David Coverdale * Includes 6 bonus tracks, including rare b-sides and alternative mixes, plus 2 previously unreleased live versions from Castle Donington 1990 * 7 of the 8 video clips are available on DVD for the first time, including 2 previously unavailable tracks from their sold out 1990 headline appearance at the Monsters Of Rock Festival, Castle Donington * This is Whitesnake's only album to feature guitar wizard Steve Vai


BROKEN RECORDS 'Until The Earth Begins To Part': [Release Date 01/06/2009]



"We're trying to do something different. People forget that music doesn't have to be just bass, guitar and drums. It can be just as loud and exciting with glockenspiel and trumpet" – Broken Records What the critics are saying: "One of the country's most exciting new bands' – NME "A good outside bet to win the Mercury Music Prize" – News Of The World "They simply astound, the UK's answer to Arcade Fire – epic, swirling, joyfully mysterious music…with a warmth and heart" – The Guardian "Utterly unique" – Clash. Hotly tipped Scottish seven piece Broken Records announce a series of UK tour dates to coincide with the release of their debut album 'Until The Earth Begins To Part' on 4AD. The group, who formed in Edinburgh at the end of 2006, have already been tipped for greatness by publications as diverse as NME, Q, The Word, The Sun, The Fly, News Of The World, Clash, The Skinny and Drowned in Sound – a series of three independently released singles released in 2008 led NME to call them "an incredible proposition – set to go stellar as soon as they decide on a lucky label to sign to". The album features ten tracks and was recorded in Monnow Valley studio in Monmouth with producer Ian Caple.


CASS MCCOMBS 'Catacombs': [Release Date 01/06/2009]



'Catacombs' showcases the dreamlike fantasia and killer song hooks from one of the greatest US singer-songwriter of modern times. Like his previous LP 'Dropping The Writ', 'Catacombs' possesses that rare ability to attack both the listener's heart with its melodies and textures, and head with its poetry and themes. In the greatest of American traditions, McCombs carries on transcending fad and fashion to ensure the art of songwriting lives on.


CODY CHESNUTT 'The Headphone Masterpiece': [Release Date 01/06/2009]


Cody Chesnutt's critically acclaimed debut album, originally released in 2003. * The track 'Look Good In Leather' has recently received plays from Colin Murray off the back of the Lynx TV commercial.


FRANZ FERDINAND 'Blood': [Release Date 01/06/2009]


Ltd LP:

'Blood' is the dub companion album to 'Tonight: Franz Ferdinand'. The original album has been twisted inside out by album producer Dan Carey. Carey's CV includes an 'apprenticeship' with legendary south London dub specialist The Mad Professor, owner of Ariwa Sounds, one of the UK's premier reggae labels. Whilst the record is primarily a dub album it covers more bases including disco, space rock and house. 'Blood' was originally featured as part of the limited edition box set and double disc versions of 'Tonight: Franz Ferdinand', though this new version will include the additional song, 'Be Afraid', a version of 'Dream Again'.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply