Monday’s Forthcoming Releases [Part I]

image004.jpg image005.jpg image006.jpg

MUTE LABEL REISSUES: [Release Date 27/07/2009]


CRIME & THE CITY SOLUTION 'Paradise Discotheque'

SILICON TEENS 'Music For Parties'

image011.jpg image012.jpg image013.jpg image014.jpg


In May 1967 a group exploded onto the British music scene that would play a significant part in pioneering a new genre of rock music whilst creating some of the most original and exciting works of the ensuing three years. The Nice would go down in history as one of the most exciting live acts of their age and as the creators of a series of excellent albums that would fuse the worlds of rock and classical music, taking in elements of Jazz, Psychedelia and Rhythm and Blues on the way, effectively spawning the genre of "Progressive" rock in their wake. Their Charisma releases have now been given the full remastering treatment and all feature extensive liner notes from Mark Powell.

Five Bridges: The album 'Five Bridges' was released in May 1970 and would prove to be the most commercially successful album by the band to date. The album featured highlights of the Fairfield Hall concert, alongside a recording of 'Country Pie / Brandenburg Concerto No. 6' recorded at the Fillmore East in December 1970 and the studio track 'One of Those People'. This newly expanded and remastered edition of the album adds the Fairfield Hall concert encore as a bonus track, alongside a previously unreleased studio overdubbed version of 'Country Pie' from the Fillmore East and the April 1970 BBC radio session version of 'Five Bridges'.

Elegy: This expanded and remastered edition of 'Elegy' includes two tracks from the final recording session by The Nice for a BBC Radio One 'Sounds of the Seventies' session – Recorded 6th April 1970.

Autumn '67 – Spring '68: This compilation was gathered together in 1972 by Tony Stratton-Smith for release on Charisma Records and features alternate mixes of material recorded by The Nice between Autumn 1967 and Spring 1968.

Live At The Fillmore East, December 1969: Nearly forty years on from the Nice's Fillmore Concerts of December 1969 the original 8-track master tapes were discovered whilst researching remastered editions of 'Five Bridges' and 'Elegy', including alternate unedited performances of 'She Belongs to Me' and 'Country Pie', along with material previously unreleased on either vinyl or CD.


JAMELIA 'The Collection' [Release Date 27/07/2009]

CD: Jamelia is without doubt one of the UK's most successful female solo artists. Jamelia had an amazing three Top 5 hits from just one album, 'Thank You'. Her UK success was emulated in Europe where she was a continual serious chart presence, and in Australia and New Zealand where she reached No 1. Includes 3 top 10 hits. Jamelia is working on her 4th studio album with producers producers Shea Taylor [Rihanna, Beyoncé, Janet Jackson] and Scyience [Jay-Z, John Legend, Mary J Blige]. Album is due 2009.


GEORGE THOROGOOD & THE DESTROYERS 'The Dirty Dozen' [Release Date 27/07/2009]

CD: George Thorogood & The Destroyers have returned to Capitol/EMI for the July 28 release of 'The Dirty Dozen', a scorching new blues-rock album pairing six new studio recordings with six classic fan favorites, including three popular tracks that were previously out-of-print in the U.S. 'The Dirty Dozen' features Thorogood's signature blues-rock vocals and guitar playing on 12 songs, many of which were written by a who's-who of American blues legends, including Muddy Waters, Bo Diddley, "Sleepy" John Estes, Chuck Berry, Howlin' Wolf, and Willie Dixon. Launching the new recordings on Side One of 'The Dirty Dozen' is Willie Dixon's swaggering 'Tail Dragger', vividly illustrated by Thorogood's vocals and guitar, followed by his new take on John Hammond's version of "Sleepy" John Estes' 'Drop Down Mama,' a rocking jam that's driven by Thorogood's muscular guitar playing. Also on Side One are Thorogood's new recordings of Muddy Waters' 'Born Lover', Bo Diddley's 'Let Me Pass', 'Twenty Dollar Gig' by Mickey Bones, and The Holmes Brothers' 'Run Myself Out Of Town'. Side Two's fan favorites open with Thorogood's previously out-of-print guitar and sax-propelled take on Willie Dixon and Howlin' Wolf's 'Howlin' For My Baby', followed by Howlin' Wolf's 'Highway 49', a bona fide juke joint roof-raiser loaded with slide-laden guitar riffs. Side Two also features two other previously out-of-print tracks: Chuck Berry's 'Hello Little Girl' and country standard 'Six Days On The Road'. 'Treat Her Right' and 'Blue Highway' are also included. "It feels like a homecoming for me, to be back with Capitol/EMI for 'The Dirty Dozen'," says Thorogood. "This album is also a homecoming of sorts for us – it's a real rocker, full of songs we've always loved playing, including some that our fans have told us they like a lot but haven't been available for a while".

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply