Tuesday’s Forthcoming Releases [Part I]


PEARL JAM 'The Fixer' [Release Date 07/09/2009]

Ltd C5 I Ltd 7": In what is set to be one of the highlights of the year, Pearl Jam release their eagerly anticipated new studio album 'Backspacer', September 21st, produced by Brendan O'Brien. Their highly charged new single 'The Fixer' is out September 7th. Pearl Jam are a band reborn with their ninth studio album 'Backspacer', their first release with Universal/Island records. The band reunited with producer Brendan O'Brien for 'Backspacer' who produced four of Pearl Jam's earlier albums and the re-master of their seminal debut 'Ten', which was released in March. The band recently premiered 'Got Some', one of the many highlights from their new 11-track record on the debut of US chat show, The Tonight Show with Conan O'Brien, June 1st. Their performance gained an unprecedented amount of views on YouTube and received the biggest US chat show audience figures in 5 years.


DAVID GRAY 'Fugitive' [Release Date 07/09/2009]

C5: David Gray makes his long-awaited return with his bold single 'Fugitive', September 7th – the first taste from his eagerly anticipated new album 'Draw The Line', out September 14th. 'Fugitive' was written and produced by David Gray in his North London studio, The Church. It's the perfect introduction to his new record and the sentiments perfectly portray where David is now as an artist. "I've been a fugitive from life, I've been hiding in my bubble. And I had this image of Saddam Hussein being pulled out a hole in the ground," says David. "It's about hiding from life, from yourself. It's saying don't forsake it all because there's something keeping you upright and keeping you walking down the street. And that force was coming flying out of me." The track is built around a buoyant piano and electric guitar with a soaring contribution from a gospel choir. 'Draw The Line' as a new collection of songs catches David Gray under a new revitalised light. He's hungry for more feeling. More heart. More soul. More songs. More Life. "Hunger is a very accurate appraisal for how I feel," he says. "I got to say things as a writer that I've obviously been dying to say for years. The camera was suddenly panning everywhere. It was just a wonderful feeling. I just feel very, very alive. That's the feeling that's in 'Draw The Line'."


MIKA 'We Are Golden' [Release Date 07/09/2009]

C5 I 7" I 12": The single 'We are Golden' is a supernova musical rush – a gloriously epic slice of explosive power-pop – and underlines Mika as a completely unique talent within contemporary British music. The track features Mika and the massive backing of the Andrae Crouch Gospel Choir (famously on Madonna's 'Like A Prayer') and a huge kids chorus who kick with a fantastic lung-puncturing chant of "we are not what you think we are, WE ARE GOLDEN!" The single comes with fantastic mixes from Calvin Harris, Mirwais and Don Diablo, and a video spectacular directed by acclaimed Swedish director Jonas Åkerlund, who has made some of the most iconic videos of the last decade by the likes of Madonna, U2 and Prodigy. 'We Are Golden' acts as a perfect opening track for an album that is written by Mika and co-produced by himself and Greg Wells. The album was recorded between London and Los Angeles over the last two years, and other guests include The Seawind Horns [Thriller, Off The Wall], Imogen Heap, Owen Pallet from Final Fantasy/Arcade Fire and Stuart Price.


PIXIE LOTT 'Boys & Girls' [Release Date 07/09/2009]

C5: The 2nd single to be taken from her debut album


RUFUS WAINWRIGHT 'Milwaukee At Last!!!' [Release Date 07/09/2009]

CD/DVD: Having wowed and dazzled audiences on his acclaimed and celebrated 2007 'Release The Stars' tour, Rufus Wainwright releases his eagerly anticipated new live CD/DVD 'Milwaukee at Last!!!' Containing a 10-track CD and DVD boasting 23 songs, 'Milwaukee At Last!!!' was recorded at the Pabst Theatre in Milwaukee, Wisconsin on the US leg of his tour, August 27th 2007. 'Release The Stars' is the focal point of the new live CD with other highlights coming from Rufus' 'Want One' record, a scintillating performance of Noel Coward's 'If Love Were All' from his 'Rufus Does Judy' show, plus a spine tingling acapella version of celtic song 'Macushla'. 'Milwaukee at Last!!!' comes packaged in a clamshell box with 4 postcards.


RAINBOW 'Anthology 1975 – 1984' [Release Date 07/09/2009]

2CD: As the title explains thoroughly the content of this 2-disc set spans almost the entire career of Rainbow and is a celebration of all that was great and then greater still with the Anglo-American Heavy Rock giant. From their first incarnation with vocalist Ronnie James Dio whose fantasy sword n' sorcery lyrics shaped the early image of the band and whose significant presence takes-up the entire first disc, through to the chart scaling heights enjoyed with the Graham Bonnet line-up and the likes of 'Since You Been Gone' and then finally ending with the smooth-throated delivery and U.S. AOR styling's brought by Joe Lynn Turner, all the hits and more are crammed into this attractive package. With a nod also to Blackmore's curious sense of humour and the addition of tracks such as, 'Snowman' [the title theme to the cartoon Xmas favourite] and a previously unreleased live rendition of 'Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow' from 1980's Monsters Of Rock Festival, this release stands-out significantly from previous would-be hits collections in both content and execution. With the addition of expert sleeve-notes from Jerry Bloom, editor of More Black Than Purple (the ultimate Ritchie Blackmore magazine) and the Ritchie Blackmore biography, Black Knight, and a 16 page booklet chronicling the career of Rainbow with a complete album discography and comprehensive personnel chart, Anthology 1975 – 1984 is a must have addition for both the Rainbow collector or for those who might only now be discovering the rich treasure trove that is the musical legacy of Rainbow.


JULIAN COPE 'Peggy Suicide' [Release Date 07/09/2009]

2CD: 'Peggy Suicide' is the fifth official solo album by Julian Cope released in 1991. It was accompanied with extensive notes in which Cope explained the meaning of each song and stated that the entire album was a meditation on humanity's relationship to mother Earth. The album was written in the aftermath of the British anti-poll tax in 1990, to which several songs refer. Margaret Thatcher, the British Prime Minister, resigned between the album's recording and its release. Hence the lyric to Leperskin, in which Thatcher was referred to as an "apostolic hag", lost some of its edge. Many songs are given very idiosyncratic interpretations, such as Cope's account of 'You' which asserts that the Conscious Mind "acts like a cross between Tony Wilson and Bill Drummond but looks a lot like Lew Grade. The Unconscious mind…looks like Iggy Pop playing Syd Barrett."


MICHAEL JACKSON 'The Definitive Collection' [Release Date 07/09/2009]

CD: UMC proudly announces the latest edition to its successful Defintive Series Collection. Digitally remastered, Michael Jackson The Definitive Collection includes original hit recordings, classic photos, and liner notes by noted author David Ritz. Michael Jackson was a phenomenon from the start. As a pure singer, he was remarkable, his voice soaring with the eager confidence of a prodigy. His initial work ranks among his finest and still sizzles with fresh enthusiasm. Michael is gone, but his ability to express an astounding range of feelings with conviction and grace guarantees his immortality. He earned his crown as King of Pop, but these timeless tracks make it clear that the King had deep roots in the rich soil of his soulful past.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply