Thursday’s Forthcoming Releases [Part I]


THOM YORKE 'FeelingPulledApartbyHorses' / 'TheHollowEarth' [Release Date 28/09/09]

LTD 12": 'FeelingPulledApartByHorses' is written and played by Thom Yorke and Jonny Greenwood and is a radical rework of an old tune that's been kicking around without a home since 2001. 'TheHollowEarth' is a bass menace from the 'Eraser' period that needed a little more time. Both tracks were produced by Nigel Godrich and mastered by Bob Ludwig. They are being released on an extremely limited edition 12" (3000 copies only) with lavish inner and outer sleeves by Stanley & Tchock.


THE HOLLOWAYS 'No Smoke, No Mirrors' [Release Date 28/09/09]

CD: "The Holloways are piecing together the pop album of the year" Mark Beaumont, NME The Holloways exploded onto the scene in 2006 with the instant indie classics 'Generator', 'Two Left Feet' and 'Dancefloor' taken from their debut album 'So This Is Great Britain?'. 'So This Is Great Britain?' brought the band critical acclaim and built on their already substantial fan base, selling over 40,000 copies in the UK alone. Fans flocked to sold-out shows up and down the country and they quickly established themselves as festival favourites, with storming sets at Glastonbury, Get Loaded in the Park and more. The unfortunate demise of their old record label midway through recording their second album followed by a fire which destroyed their equipment, rehearsal space and spiritual home may have been enough to crush a lesser band but The Holloways return on October 5th with their new album 'No Smoke, No Mirrors'. The new single 'Jukebox Sunshine', which is already picking up strong support from BBC Radio 1, is released on September 28th and the band will be following various successful festival appearances with an extensive UK tour.


THE JACKSON 5 with MICHAEL JACKSON 'The First Recordings' [Release Date 05/10/09]

CD: Unique and historic album, essential for all Michael Jackson fans interested in the evolution of his unique sound The five brothers came together as the Jackson Five in 1964, and in 1967, they made their first recordings for Gary, Indiana label, Steeltown Records, produced by Gordon Keith. Their first single 'Big Boy' / 'You've Changed' on Steeltown and now very rare and collectible, was released in January 1968. The brothers also cut another single for the label 'We Don't Have To Be Over 21' / 'Jam Session'. This album features all these tracks plus versions of classic Soul hits including 'The Tracks Of My Tears', 'My Girl' & 'Saturday Night At The Movies'.



'Bowery Songs': 'Bowery Songs,' the newest album from Joan Baez and her first live album in ten years, is a soaring chronicle of her current performances. From Joan's opening acapella benediction, 'Finlandia,' to her prophetic and telling versions of Bob Dylan's 'It's All Over Now, Baby Blue' and Steve Earle's 'Jerusalem' that close the album, there can be no mistaking the medium and the message she sought to capture.


'Day After Tomorrow': Recorded in Nashville, the 10-track album features an all-acoustic band consisting of Tim O'Brien, Darrell Scott, Viktor Krauss, Kenny Malone and Steve Earle. Earle notes the importance in choosing the lineup of players, explaining the need to find musicians that, "would bring the requisite virtuosity, as well as the appropriate reverence, to a record that would celebrate the 50th year of a remarkable career." Of the assembled group, Earle says, "Within seconds of the first downbeat it was obvious that we had assembled the right crew. The band dug deep and found the pulse of the song and then Joan breathed life into it, and we all knew that we were a part of something special." Highlights on the record include the Tom Waits-penned title track 'ay After Tomorrow,' the Academy Award and Grammy Award-nominated song 'Scarlet Tide,' written by Elvis Costello and T-Bone Burnett and 'God is God,' one of three songs Steve Earle wrote especially for the project. Of the selected material, Baez notes, "It's been a long time since I've had an entire album of songs that speak to the essence of who I am in the same way as the songs that have been the enduring backbone of my repertoire for the past 50 years."


'Ring Them Bells': More than a decade has now passed since April 1995, when Joan Baez and her guests took over the Bottom Line cabaret in the heart of New York's Greenwich Village for the recording of 'Ring Them Bells,' a watershed event in post-modern folk music. This is an expanded edition 2-CD: 90 minutes vs. the original single CD's 64 minutes. The original's 15 tracks have now been upped to 21 tracks – the additional six of which are previously unreleased – more accurately reflecting the sequence of the recording over the course of two nights, with two sets each night. Added in are three additional performances by Joan ['Love Song To A Stranger', 'Geordie', 'You Ain't Goin' Nowhere'], a second duet with Tish Hinojosa ['Gracias A La Vida'], a second duet with Indigo Girls ['The Water Is Wide'], and a second duet with Mary Chapin Carpenter ['Stones In The Road'].



LP: Limited Edition of 5000 copies, with sleeve printed on heavyweight board and newly designed inner bag * Remastered from the original analogue tapes specially for this vinyl edition and pressed on 180g Vinyl * The fourth album from Dead Can Dance, originally issued in October 1988


STEVE HARLEY 'A Closer Look' / 'Love's A Prima Donna' [Release Date 05/10/09]

2-on-1 CD: First time as a 2 on 1 CD for these two albums, originally released in 1975 ['A Closer Look'] and 1976 ['Love's A Prima Donna'] Sleevenotes by Alan Clayson. 'A Closer Look' was a collection of previously recorded works, containing all the big successes so far, and has many tracks produced by Steve Harley and Alan Parsons [of 'Dark Side Of The Moon' production fame]. 'Love's A Prima Donna' contains Steve's welltimed revival of George Harrison's 'Here Comes The Sun' which he thrust into the UK Top Ten during 1976's extraordinarily warm July.


HADLEY, NORMAN & KEEBLE 'A Evening Of Gold' [Release Date 05/10/09]

CD: Tony Hadley, Steve Norman and John Keeble shot to worldwide fame as members of Spandau Ballet with the Kemp Brothers in the early 80's and led the "New Romantics" movement in the UK and over the next decade notched up no less than 20 Hit Singles, 3 Platinum and 2 Gold albums. This album was recorded at Pennington's, Bradford, England during 2002 with the band performing to a sold out auditorium all the Hits that Spandau had become famous for with all three musicians on exceptional form.


GO WEST 'King Of Wishful Thinking – Live' [Release Date 05/10/09]

CD: Formed in 1982, Go West are responsible for a string of chart Hits during the 80' and 90's including such timeless classics as 'We Close Our Eyes' and 'King Of Wishful Thinking'. Success after success followed with the band's songs being featured in numer ous Hollywood hit movies including Pretty Woman and Rocky 1V. Playing live was however core to the band's existence and this release was recorded of the band playing to a sold out Robin 2, Bilston, England during December 2003.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply