Friday’s Forthcoming Releases [Part I]


A-HA 'Foot Of The Mountain' [Release Date 13/07/2009]


A-Ha, Norway's masterminds of pop music, return to their classic synth sound on 13 July 2009 with the release of their ninth studio album 'Foot Of The Mountain'. Almost a quarter of a century since the band burst onto the scene with the unforgettable 'Take On Me', the A-Ha sound has come full circle returning to the driving synths, strong melody and melancholic lyrics that first captured the hearts of the UK. Morten Harket [Vocals], Magne Furuholmen [keyboards] and Paul Waaktaar-Savoy [Guitar / principal songwriter] have amassed world-wide record sales of over 36 million, and with this, their ninth studio album in a 24 year career, Morten explained, "It was about time that we reached out a little more." Following the critical acclaim of their 2006 album 'Analogue', A-Ha return with an album inspired by their original synth sound, sitting comfortably in 2009 alongside the likes of Little Boots and La Roux. Opening with the galloping charge of 'The Bandstand', the album quickly defines itself with the keyboard intro before Morten's instantly recognisable vocals announce their return. Melting into the Arcade Fire influenced 'Riding The Crest' which Paul describes as 'electro blues', the album flows into the melancholic 'What There Is' before thundering back into the stunning single and title track 'Foot Of The Mountain'. With other tracks like 'Shadowside' and 'Sunny Mystery' incorporating the most driving and contagious beats and lyrics of A-Ha's career, 'Foot Of The Mountain' is an album that cements A-Ha's position in the world of pop. 'Foot Of The Mountain' is simply summed up by Magne: "This is an unashamedly passionate album, it's up-tempo but not exactly upbeat." In short, it is what A-Ha do best. The album, recorded between Autumn 2008 and Spring 2009 in New York, Oslo, Hamburg, Stockholm and Bath, was produced by A-Ha, Steve Osborne (New Order, Placebo, Suede, Elbow), Erik Ljunggren, Roland Spremberg and Mark Saunders and mixed Steve Osborne.


JUDAS PRIEST 'A Touch Of Evil: Live' [Release Date 13/07/2009]


As the creators of a live release that is considered to be one of the all-time great concert recordings in the realm of heavy metal (1979's 'Unleashed In The East'), whenever Judas Priest announce a new live album, metalheads worldwide instantly take note. And on 'A Touch of Evil: Live' released July 13, the mighty Priest – which includes singer Rob Halford, guitarists Glenn Tipton and KK Downing, bassist Ian Hill, and drummer Scott Travis – don't disappoint. Focusing primarily on fan-revered album cuts [all previously unreleased in live form], 'A Touch of Evil: Live' features absolutely scintillating renditions of such Priest gems as 'Riding on the Wind', 'Beyond the Realms of Death', 'Dissident Aggressor', 'A Touch of Evil', 'Eat Me Alive' and the set-closing 'Painkiller'. Also of note are the first live album appearances of standouts from Priest's critically acclaimed 2008 concept double disc, 'Nostradamus' ('Death' and 'Prophecy'). Recorded by Martin Walker and Brian Thorene during the Judas Priest's mammoth 2005 and 2008 world tours, 'A Touch of Evil: Live' also marks the first Priest album that producer Tom Allom has worked on since 1988 [co-producing along with the band]. It was such Allom-produced albums as the aforementioned 'Unleashed in the East', as well as 'British Steel' and 'Screaming for Vengeance' (among others) that made Priest not only one of the leading metal acts, but one of the leading global rock acts. As heard throughout 'A Touch of Evil: Live', Priest remain a must-see live act…and a must-hear one, as well.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply