Wednesday’s Forthcoming Releases [Part I]

ELTON JOHN ‘The Red Piano’ [Release Date 14/12/2009]


The stunning 'Red Piano' show live from Caesars Palace Las Vegas. Featuring 3 decades of hits uniquely presented with David LaChapelle's magnificent stage production. Includes behind-the-scenes documentary and the full length, full screen LaChapelle films used as stage projections. 


EMINEM ‘Relapse: Refill’ [Release Date 21/12/2009]

Guess Who’s Having A Refill?  While Eminem is putting the finishing touches to 'Relapse 2', we are bringing you 'Relapse: Refill' – released on 21st December.

Following on from one of the fastest selling records of 2009, 'Relapse: Refill' is the original 'Relapse' album, packaged with a disc of seven brand new tracks. Five of these tracks have not previously been heard ever before. The other two tracks are 'Taking My Ball' (from DJ Hero) and 'Forever' from the 'Music Inspired by More Than A Game' album featuring Kanye West, Drake & Lil Wayne.

BADLY DRAWN BOY ‘Is There Nothing We Could Do?’ [Release Date14/12/2009]

Badly Drawn Boy, aka Damon Gough, is set to release his new album 'Is There Nothing We Could Do?' on Dec 14th. The soundtrack is the Mancunian's first release since 'Born In The UK', released in October 2006.

'Is There Nothing We Could Do?' is the soundtrack to the ITV film 'The Fattest Man In Britain' which was written by Caroline Aherne and Jeff Pope and stars Timothy Spall in the lead role and Bobby Ball as his agent and sidekick Morris Morrisey. The film will be aired in December.

The soundtrack is Badly Drawn Boy's sixth album in a career spanning ten years that has spawned the Mercury Award winning 'The Hour Of Bewilderbeast' and 2002's soundtrack to the film 'About A Boy'. 'Is There Nothing We Could Do?' was recorded at Stockport's Moolah Rouge, produced by Stephen Hilton and features new and exclusive tracks.

‘DUKE SPECIAL The 3 EPs’ [Release Date 14/12/2009]

Duke Special's earliest recordings, in an embossed box incorporating;

* 'Lucky Me' includes the first ever recording of 'Freewheel' live favourite 'I Let You Down' and the moving 'Kill Me Quickly Please'.

* 'My Villain Heart' includes the first ever recording of 'Last Night I Nearly Died', 'Regarding the Moonlight in Eastbourne' and 'Love is a Series of Scars'.

* 'Your Vandal' features collaborations with old friends Iain Archer and Phil Wilkinson [The Amazing Pilots] and the only studio recording of 'Low'. 

DUKE SPECIAL ‘Little Revolutions’ [Release Date 14/12/2009]

A collection of 18 Duke Special B sides and rarities including great covers of Radiohead's 'Lucky', 'Tainted Love' with Neil Hannon and Prince's 'I Feel For You' as well as Duke songs such as 'Quiet Revolutionaries', 'Feet in the Sky' and 'Glimmer Girl'.


AQUALUNG ALBUMS [Release Date 14/12/2009]
If anyone can claim to have had their career in some way chosen for them, it's Aqualung's Matt Hales. Born above his parents' independent record store in Southampton, he was writing songs by the age of 4. By 17 he'd had his first symphony 'Life Cycle' performed by a 60-piece orchestra, with Matt himself conducting. No ordinary childhood. No ordinary child.

It was a the haunting song 'Strange And Beautiful', written for a VW Beetle advertising campaign in the UK that changed Matt Hales' life. With record shops and radio stations across the UK besieged by people
desperate to find THAT song, Aqualung was born, a record deal signed, and the song released, reaching Number 7 in the UK singles chart in 2002.

* ‘B-Sides Volume 1’:

A collection of rare tracks from the career of Matt Hales aka Aqualung – most famous for his Volkswagen Beetle advertising hit 'Strange & Beautiful'. The special priced CD includes a version of his US hit 'Brighter Than Sunshine' as well as his collaboration with Nitin Sawhney, 'Falling'.

* ‘Remixes Volume 1’:

Aqualung's singles reworked by some of the country's top producers and remixers including Steve Osbourne, Jacknife Lee and Marius De Vries.

‘Fall Be Kind’ [Release Date 14/12/2009]



Recorded by Ben Allen at Sweet Tea in Oxford, and at Mission Sound in Brooklyn, 'Fall Be Kind' includes recent live favourites 'Graze' and 'What Would I Want? Sky' (featuring the first ever licensed Grateful
Dead sample).

JULIAN CASABLANCAS ‘I Wish It Was Christmas Today’ [Release Date 21/12/2009]
Strictly Ltd 7”:
 — **Strictly Limited to 500 Copies ONLY**
The song is taken from the US TV show Saturday Night Live; skit starring Horatio Sanz, Jimmy Fallon, Chris Katten and Tracy Morgan.
THE TEMPER TRAP ‘Fader’ [Release Date 04/01/2010]
Ltd 7P:

Hot on the heels of hit single 'Sweet Disposition', and taken from the album 'Conditions', The Temper Trap release third single 'Fader'.

SKIP BIFFERTY ‘Skip Bifferty’ [Release Date 25/01/2010]

They may have been downgraded over the intervening years to a retrospectively-acclaimed, collector-type act, but at the time Skip Bifferty were genuine contenders: significant radio support for their singles, heavyweight management and afforded Next Big Thing status by the weekly pop papers. Sadly, though, it didn't quite work out. Despite receiving rave reviews, the band's eponymous album failed to elevate them to the premier league, largely due to RCA's bizarre decision not to release it until the summer of 1968 – a full year after it had been completed. Pride of place goes to three previously unreleased recordings, all taken from the original master-tapes. 'Jesus Smith (The Other Side Of)' is the band's semi-legendary, hitherto-lost debut studio recording, while there are two versions of 'Skizoid Revolution', a song that has previously only been available with a guest vocal from Alan Hull.

RAIN PARADE ‘Beyond The Sunset’ [Release Date 25/01/2010]

The band was founded by college roommates Matt Piucci (guitar, vocals) and David Roback (guitar, vocals) in 1981, originally as The Sidewalks. David's brother Steven Roback (bass, vocals) joined the band shortly thereafter. The band soon added Will Glenn (keyboards and violin) and later Eddie Kalwa (drums). They self-released their debut single, 'What She's Done to Your Mind' on their Llama label in 1982. David Roback left to form a new band, Rainy Day, the rest of the band continuing to record as a four piece, releasing the mini-LP, 'Explosions in the Glass Palace' in 1984. The band signed to Island Records, and a live album ('Beyond The Sunset') recorded in Japan, and a third album, 'Crashing Dream', came out in 1985. This the bands only Live album has never been released on CD before and has been re-mastered and has exclusive notes by Classic Rocks Malcolm Dome.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply